Mementos – The Stuff of Memories

Blog Azeroth – Shared Topic for the week of September 6th, 2010
Shared Topic Idea: Mementos – What mementos have you kept and why?

This topic is asking: What items or mementos have you kept (in your toon’s pack or bank) and why? Whether it be keepsakes, quest rewards, special items, random drops, whatever! – why did you decide to hang on to it? What’s its significance to you? Talk about as few or as many as you like, though probably best to limit it somewhat so you have room to explain why rather than simply listing every item in your bank

- Feraltree

Most if not all World of Warcraft players have some sense of the scope of the game they play. Azeroth is one of the most vivid and rich environments that I have ever encountered. Everywhere you turn within the game you see the loving care that each developer has given to the minutest of details. These details make the game worth playing and allow every person who sits down at their computer to make memories that will last.

And really, this game comes down to memories. Yes, you might feel that you are just blowing off steam after a long day of work or spending some time with your friends from far away. While it is important to have fun in the moment, it’s the memories that keep us coming back. Memories of achievement, memories of glory, memories of hardship, memories of struggle. For many, these memories are encapsulated in little trinkets, treasures kept safe for years and years, waiting for a moment to be pulled out, dusted off, and remembered.

I know I have many things saved in my bank that are there only as sentimental keepsakes. I am going to discuss just a couple of them here and the memories that they hold for me. But first, a trip down memory lane…

Nearly two years ago, a good friend of mine was attempting to convince me to play but I was having none of it. My resistance was mostly that I didn’t want to get hooked like I knew I would. One evening, my friend ambushed me by asking me into his room with the character creation screen open. He sat me down in his desk chair and told me to give it a try. I knew then and there that I was ruined. I bought my account within hours.

As I was getting started, my friend helpfully explained all the classes and their general sort of mechanics so that I would have some idea of what I was getting into. All of them seemed exciting in their own ways, but nothing could compare to the warlock. Cast a spell, let it tick away and reduce your enemy to ash. Yes please.

So, for me, some of my most treasured keepsakes are rooted in the essence of the warlock. These four little items are the final tools required in the once-momentous questline wherein each warlock would gather rare resources and spend large sums of hard earned gold to tame the mighty Dreadsteed. Now, I only completed this a few months ago, so the entire process was trivially easy (except for the last portion inside Dire Maul, which actually was quite stressful). However, I was still overcome by a feeling of awe when my steed appeared and I successfully tamed it. Regardless of level, every warlock should complete this ritual when the time comes.

Now, moving away from all the deep thoughts I have placed above, my next little item will cause many of you great sorrow. For all you fishermen and companion seekers out there, I have in my bank a Mr. Pinchy with two wishes left. This Mr. Pinchy is very special for me. For those that don’t know, Mr. Pinchy is an extremely rare item that can only be fished up from certain schools in Outland. Many commenters on the Wowhead lament the hundreds of hours they have spent hunting for this item. I did not spend hundreds of hours getting mine. I spent one cast. One.

Now that you have stopped beating your keyboard and are rational enough to continue reading, I will again cause your fury to rise up by saying that the one wish I used gave me the companion pet. Just one wish.

….

Okay, tantrum over. I’ll move on so as not to cause a riot.

The last little item I would like to share is one that many people have gotten and one that is easily obtained with a little patience. The Schools of Arcane Magic – Mastery is a nifty little book that is a reward from completing Higher Learning. It allows the owner to teleport from any location within Dalaran up to the tower and speak with Archmage Vargoth and spend some time with him in his personal retreat.

My attachment to this item is mostly the novelty of it. I love that after gathering up and reading a whole bunch of lore-filled books, you are given yet another that lets you go hand out with an archmage up in a magical tower in the sky. If I were more into active RP, this item would see a great deal of use. As it is, my character might use it when I am not actively playing along with her… but I will probably talk about that some other time.

So, what are your treasures? What trinkets and baubles are you hiding in your bags, and what memories can they share?

~ Aliera

~ by Aliera on September 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “Mementos – The Stuff of Memories”

  1. I have a lot of minipets but these are exactly the few I never bothered with, hehe!
    It seems to me you’ll have a lot of time (and space) to collect more mementos in the future, it will be interesting to see how your list looks one year from now!

    • I definitely recommend the Higher Learning one. The books are full of lore if you are willing to read them and the book that allows you to jump back and forth is, as I said, a great little RP item. It can get a little frustrating waiting around for them to be available, but patience, patience, patience.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

