Quirky!

Blog Azeroth – Shared Topic for the week of April 11th, 2011
Shared Topic Idea: Weird Gaming Habits

Most everyone has a routine for when they play WoW, but do you have any habits that are particularly eccentric? Do you always log out in the same place, try on other’s gear when inspecting, or obsessively spam a macro or trinket at weird times? Out of game, do you have to crack your knuckles every time you take a flight path, put on your PJs in order to really get into the game, or tab out immediately upon wiping?

- Akabeko

This week’s shared topic is a bit of a shorty for me. I have been trying to think of any odd habits that I have around gaming, specifically Warcraft. I thought of a few, but I seem to be surprisingly habit-free. I’ll come back ‘round to that. First, bring on the quirks!

The most obvious thing about my gaming is that I like to finish things completely. If a reputation bar is sitting at 643/999 exalted, I will find a way to max out that number and top up to 999. I have been slowly working my way around each of the professions, gathering up every recipe possible just to have them all. This could easily be called Pokemon syndrome; Gotta Catch ‘Em All!

On the physical quirk side, when I am standing idle, I sometimes click my fingers really quickly across the ‘qwe’ buttons and then the ‘asd’ buttons, back and forth… ‘qwe’-’asd’-’qwe’-’asd’… Somehow I find it, well, not exactly calming, but some sort of release of nervous energy. I do the same thing with my Xbox controller, tapping the joysticks back and forth in a criss-crossing pattern.

As for food, I like to have munchies (cookies or chips, usually), but I’m not particularly picky. Music or podcasts are perpetually playing in the background to fill the quiet. Often I watch Star Trek on my second monitor while I zoom around working on this or that. Nothing particularly strange or unique; just your average gamer.

~ by Aliera on April 12, 2011.

3 Responses to “Quirky!”

  1. Star Trek high-five!! I also watch it on my laptop while I am puttering around in game.

  2. […] the violet scribe : Quirky! […]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

