Balance

I’m at an interesting point in my life. A great deal of what I have taken for granted over the past years is about to, or has just recently, changed. I am mere weeks away from graduating from university, I will soon (I hope) be embarking upon a new job, I will need to find a new place to live… Real life is about to hit like a heavy-laden freight train. Furthermore, I will soon achieve the five-month mark with my wonderful girlfriend. Prior to this, I hadn’t had any lasting relationships, so sharing my life with someone is a new and exciting adventure.

As a result of all these changes, I have tried to keep a tight grasp on what is constant. I continue to throw myself into my music with reckless abandon and spend a good deal of time in gaming. But, something has got to give when there are more things to do than hours in the day.

So, gaming takes a bit of a hit. I don’t get to spend all weekend merrily trudging around Azeroth anymore. My weeknights are usually a quick log on for a dungeon and maybe some quests, but not as much as in years past. Even when I do want to game, I have recently found a renewed interest in hitting the ol’ Xbox for some COD. To keep all the plates spinning, I have had to adjust and find a new balance.

The good news about spending less time in WoW is that the time I do spend is usually more entertaining and action packed. With limited time, I end up doing only the things that are the most important or fun. On those occasions when I have a lengthier period of time in game, I find that my interest wanes toward the end. After a strong initial surge with the release of Cataclysm, I am ready for a little down time from the game.

And you know, there is nothing wrong with a little less WoW and a little more reading, a little more watching movies with my girlfriend, a little more time with friends. WoW is, after all, a game and should be played for fun. And right now, I am having more fun with a balance that includes a little less Azeroth.

The moral of the story, kids, is to keep the things and people in your life in balance. Too much of a good thing can be a terrible thing. Overload is never good. Harmony is everything.

~ by Aliera on April 22, 2011.

One Response to “Balance”

  1. Word, my scribe friend. Word.

    Currently I am about to rent for 1 year with 2 other girls in a house; I’m not quite at the point to look for a serious relationship but I wouldn’t mind a few dates (other than Friday night sushi night with a different friend every week).

    I work a ton, I come home, some nights I play softball, most of the nights I game, but without fail I always make my Thursday and Sunday night raids 🙂

    But I do like spending most evenings jogging, hanging out with the friends/roommates, or just spending time with myself. I think I’m entering my “fledgling career selfish me me phase” but it’s OK with me.

Leave a Reply

 
