Autoblogography

Blog Azeroth – Shared Topic for the week of November 15th, 2010
Shared Topic Idea: Your Autoblogography

I was alarmed at our lack of up and coming topics, so I figured it was time I suggest a topic myself.

Lets write our autoblogography!

What pushed you to start blogging? What challenges have you faced? What are you favorite posts and why? What are the stories behind them? How has blogging affected your gaming?

Those of you who enjoy writing in character could write feature your character reflecting on how they’ve changed since day 1 and about their favorite adventures.

If you’re a new blogger, you can write about your experience so far, about what you hope for the future.

– Ophelie

My autoblogography. Somehow it feels strange to talk about how I started blogging only two months in. But now is as good a time as any I would suppose. My story starts almost two years ago with me, a good friend of mine, and a chair.

All throughout college, my friend was gently coaxing me toward playing World of Warcraft. I had never played a true MMO before and generally wasn’t much for playing games with people I couldn’t see directly. Nevertheless, he kept bringing it up and I kept putting it off (mostly because I knew it was just the sort of game that could envelop my life and send me spiraling).

Zoom forward a couple years to when I’m a bit older and a bit wiser about managing my time and resources. Finally, the day of reckoning comes. My buddy ambushed me one evening by sitting me down at his computer with the character creation screen open. (Astute readers out there will notice that this story has already been told on my very first post… If you noticed, grats!)

Anyway, I was hopelessly hooked. However, as a new player, I definitely did not feel ready to start talking about the game on the internet. During those early stages, I barely knew what Wowhead was, hardly ever checked any other blogs or news sites, and had never heard of podcasts like the Instance or Twisted Nether. I was just a dude playing a game.

Stumble forward again and it is spring of 2010. I’m slowly calming down after a year of high-octane leveling and exploration. WoW is morphing from a game into a stable part of a balanced lifestyle. At that point, my interests started to widen. I began listening to a whole slew of podcasts and started dogging the news sites to keep up with all the latest. Reading all of the journal entries of others, I was enticed to start writing myself.

Over this last summer I had a relatively large amount of free time on my hands and nearly started a blog several times. It wasn’t until my vacation in August that I finally decided to take the plunge and enter the active community surrounding WoW. While climbing down a mountain, I suddenly discovered the perfect name for myself. I got home, moved my things into a new apartment for my last year of college, and opened a WordPress site. The Violet Scribe was born.

And so here I am. My first few steps have been a little hesitant and often last minute, yet slowly and surely this blog is becoming a part of my weekly life. Looking to the future is always murky business, but I hope that somehow, someday the words that I put down in electronic ink here may help others to understand WoW, the community, or themselves just a little bit better.

~ by Aliera on November 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “Autoblogography”

  1. I am glad you enjoy writing as much as you do! That is the most important part of having a blog 😉

    I am finding that mine is also becoming the “weekly” thing where I can sit down and reflect over the past week and mull over any possible topics/experiences that are worth sharing 🙂

  2. You have a great writing style! And, you’re right, I love the name of your blog. 🙂

  3. […] Violet Scribe from The Violet Scribe […]

Leave a comment