Pet Peeves

Blog Azeroth – Shared Topic for the week of December 20th, 2010
Shared Topic Idea: Pet Peeves

What is your biggest pet peeve? What is the one thing you just can’t tolerate in game. Is it the loudmouth in trade, the guy who keeps god-modding when trying to RP with you, the gold farmers, the….

Oh my, the list could go on. Tell us your biggest pet peeve, or make a list, or maybe tell us about the quirkiest thing that irks you.

Or, maybe if you are a roleplayer, you could do this one in character and explain what your character’s biggest pet peeve is in general. Could it be how uncomfortable the griffon saddle is, or how bland Night Elf food is, or the exorbitant price of buying anything from a goblin?

I’m leaving this one wide open. Feel free to run wild with it in whatever direction you like. I’m looking forward to hearing what we’re all grumpy about (as if we don’t write about this enough).

– Amaranth

It seems to be a fact of life that discord is certain with more than one person in the room. Each of us hold our own standards dear and will stubbornly defend our views, right or wrong, to the death. In video games, we players have the (dis?)advantage of anonymity. We can hide in cyberspace and do whatever we like.

For some this will make no difference. They will do things the same way as always, being generally nice (hopefully), understanding to a point, and mostly shooting to have a good time. Some, however, will discard all sensitivity and act like fools.

Regardless of which side you fall on, some things just get under your skin and make you want to smash your keyboard or yell nasty things. Pet peeves, here we go (in no particular order).

Peeve the First – The Role Thief
So I’m in a dungeon and we are getting ready to start. The tank is in front, waiting for the healer to top up mana and throw a couple buffs. Then mobs start swarming us. Okay, who pulled? Then, a little later, one of the melee dpsers decides he is tough enough to tank and switches into threat-mode and pops taunts everywhere. This is one of the most irritating things for me. If you sign up to do a job, do your job. Don’t try to steal a different job. Click the little box if you want to tank. Right? Okay, thanks.

Second Coming – The Body-Watcher
The birds a singing softly, a cool breeze brushes my face, and I finally spot the flower I was looking for. And then I have a dagger in my back. Fine, no worries. I’ll just go collect my body, resummon my demon, and get on with life. Okay, there is the flower. And there is the knife again. Campers can go die in various forms of flames. That is all.

Third Times Charm – The Beggar
I’m going to be brutally honest. I hate it when people I don’t know ask me for things out of the blue. I want nothing to do with you, I want you all to leave and not bother me. In game I get even more annoyed. You there, asking anyone in trade chat if they can spare you 100 gold: go start a Death Knight, get them out into the world, pick up some gathering professions, and sell something. Be a contributing member of our economy and stop pestering us for cash. We are not your parents. Stand up and do something worthwhile.

Alright, slash rant. These three stood out for me tonight, but I know there are other things that bother me. What are the little irritants that make your skin crawl?

~ by Aliera on December 21, 2010.

Leave a comment